Happy Blogiversary

Hello MLAaMW Readers! This month I am celebrating my very first blogiversary! It has truly been a whirlwind of a year, filled with twists, turns, and more changes than I could have ever imagined. I began this endeavor as a brand new wife, fresh out of the transition of being a single working gal to working from home. The idea to create this blog was a number of fortuitous events. Allow me to elaborate,  I have always had a knack for writing in school. An idea would pop into my head and I would grab a notebook and scribble notes until a full story (or song or newspaper article etc..) was created. This would usually lead me to doing research and learning as much as I could about a particular subject. And that was my favorite way to learn about new things..always writing, asking questions, finding answers. (Yep, I was a major book-worm!)  My love of learning and passions for writing at a young age carried over into adulthood, and sometimes in the best ways practicality and creativity collide.

Before I discovered “foodie blogs” I was just an eager newlywed looking for healthy meals to cook for my new husband. I was just starting to build my cookbook collection (and cookware for that matter) and collection of family recipes and recipe card swaps from friends at my wedding showers (which is a great idea for someone who likes to cook), so I had a great amount of learning material to start with. Coming from a long line of good cooks, I was able to retain all the cooking tips I had learned as a girl. And as I learned more about the culinary arts, the more my passion grew, and so when I stumbled upon Heidi Swanson’s recipe blog, 101 Cookbooks I was amazed. The thought that someone could combine writing, and cooking in such an exquisite way was really inspiring to me. This brought me to find other well renown chefs and cookbook authors with websites and my world got a little bigger.

The only problem that I encountered with all of my findings was that there was a major experience level gap between myself and all of these very talented professionals. I’m a rookie 20 something cook from Texas with delusions of grandeur. How could I turn what I had learned into a way to inspire others? And that’s where you come in! So for the past year, I have been striving to bring recipes that bring you a little slice of happiness, that are simple and minimally fussy to make, as healthy as possible, and from ingredients found right here in my home state. I haven’t been perfect, and many of my endeavors have fallen flat, but no matter how late the deadline (I know, February was a bust huh?) I keep doing what I do and loving every minute of it. I can’t say how grateful I am to have this opportunity to share my passion with you, my friends,  thank you for sticking with me this year! Happy Blogiversary my dear readers!