Roasted Radish Salad

The great thing about this time of year is the colorful variety of produce available at the market. As a seasonal shopper, I try to utilize what is in season (along with my regular produce) as a springboard for new recipes. It’s a great way to cook outside of your comfort zone, not to mention have the freshest food at lower cost. Thus, I stumbled upon this recipe. With radishes as my inspiration, I combined some of my favorites to create a Roasted Radish Salad of sorts. The Roasted Sesame Oil finishes the dish, adding a slightly smoky flavor to the hearty vegetables. This recipe may seem understated in nature, but trust me when it comes to texture and flavor this one’s definitely got it.

Roasted Radish Salad
Radish, 1 bunch
Carrots, 2 whole
Squash,1 (I used Yellow Summer, but any firm squash will do)
Zucchini, 1/2
Red Kidney Beans (Dried) approx. 1/2 cup – Soaked, Rinsed well, and Cooked Completely*
Italian Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Spices: Red Chili Powder, Cracked Pepper, Minced Garlic ( 2 Cloves), Sea Salt
Roasted Sesame oil
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Wash all vegetables and trim off the ends.
  2. Cut the radishes in quarters. Peel the carrots and slice them in thin rounds. Cut squash/zucchini in half and remove seeds with a  small scoop or spoon, then chop in 1/4 inch thick slices.
  3. Add all vegetables and kidney beans into an oven-safe dish, and drizzle lightly with Olive Oil. Add Chili Powder, Pepper, Garlic, and Sea Salt. (I usually don’t measure spices, but as a guide use about  1 teaspoon of each.)
  4. Roast in the oven for 20 minutes or until tender and almost fully cooked, stirring occasionally.You must watch the vegetables, because they cook up fairly quickly.
  5. Remove dish from oven, and drizzle with Roasted Sesame Oil (lightly coated). Return the dish to the oven, and continue roasting till slightly golden around the edges.

*Note: I used dried beans that I had pre-cooked, but canned will also work if rinsed very thoroughly.

This recipe is great as a stand-alone dish, or paired with grilled beef or brown rice. It’s very versatile.

