Cooking Class 1.20.10

On January 20th, 2010 I was obliged to accept an offer to teach a cooking class for a group of young ladies at my church. This being my first experience teaching, I will admit I was a little nervous. I chose Asian cuisine as a primary focus, namely because of my great love for the food and culture of Asia. Upon much toil and research, I prepared a menu that would give a small taste of the staple flavors and cooking techniques from China. Why China specifically? Well, it is known as the root of all Asian cuisine, so I thought it best to start at the beginning. This is a sample menu, and highlights of my class.

~Menu~

Yum Cha – Spring Onion Pancakes form Northern China, served with Jasmine Green Tea.

(I taught the Cantonese tea house traditions of drinking tea and eating Dim Sum.)

Soup- Chinese Chicken& Mushroom Soup

(My students learned traditional soup techniques that are used in countless Chinese recipes and are still utilized today.)

Entree- Bok Choy& Chicken Stir-fry in Five Senses Sauce, served with brown rice

(I taught the stir-fry technique, as well as the balancing of flavors using the “five senses”, which are hot, sour, salty, sweet, and bitter. This method helps develop the palette and create the harmony and balance found in Asian food. )

Dessert- Chilled Chocolate Mousse cups with Orange

(Dessert was a surprise for my students. It was gone in a flash!)

~I would like to give a special thanks to Ms. Olivia McClendon for sharing her charming photos for this post! Check out the Photo Gallery page at the top for more photos. Enjoy!

