Mushrooms: Part One

My dear readers, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me via the new poll feature. I really enjoyed learning more about what you would like to see from this blog. I was especially delighted to see the majority vote for recipes, seeing as I have quite a few up my sleeve. If recipes wasn’t your preference, don’t worry I’m thinking of you as well in my current writing. Didn’t get the chance to cast your vote? Well there is no time like the present.

To all my fellow foodies, I have written a three-part series (with recipes) featuring one of my very favorite ingredients, the Portobello mushroom. Although I am fond of the Shiitake and Crimini mushrooms, the Portobello is tops in my book.  These nutritional powerhouses are rich in Niacin which is also known as vitamin B3, Potassium (they contain more potassium than the average banana), and Selenium, and to top that they contain almost zero fat and are very low in calories. Another plus is  that the size and shape of the mushroom are just right to create a petite appetizer bowl. And so without further ado, I give you Italian Mushroom Cups.

Italian Mushroom Cups

Baby Portobello mushrooms, whole, 8-10ct.
1 lb. lean ground Turkey
1 can of Natural Diced Tomatoes, 14.5oz. (Without tomato sauce)
Zucchini, ½, seeds removed and diced
Red Bell Pepper, approx. ½ cup, seeds removed and diced
Fresh Garlic, minced, 1 clove
*Spices: Sea Salt (to taste), Crushed Red Pepper Flakes (1tsp.), Paprika or Chili Powder (1/2tsp.)
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Possible Garnishes: Fresh Parsley, Thyme, or Basil

*I give approximate amounts for each spice, but depending on your preference level, feel free to adjust.

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Remove stems from the mushrooms and then discard. Scoop out the black inner parts of the mushroom, leaving a hollow bowl shape mushroom shell, and set mushroom cups aside Reserve mushroom “meat” for another recipe, perhaps for my upcoming Spinach and Mushroom Rigatoni?).

2. In a large skillet over medium heat, brown the ground turkey until fully cooked. Drain any excess liquids from the turkey and return to the skillet.

3. Add the zucchini, and red bell pepper and sauté till fully cooked. Next, add the diced tomatoes, stirring well to combine all ingredients. Then, add the garlic, sea salt, red pepper flakes, and paprika.

4. With a small spoon, generously fill the mushroom cups with the turkey and vegetable mixture. Arrange on a small baking sheet, and drizzle the tops with a little bit of olive oil. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes or until the mushrooms are tender and slightly dark brown

Top with fresh parsley, thyme, or basil. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Mushrooms: Part One

  1. Mmmmm… Portabello mushrooms are my favorite food in the whole universe.. I’m gonna make these pronto! ❤

  2. Ok – next time you and Sam are coming over – I’m asking YOU to bring the appetizer! Looks delicious.

Comments are closed.