Mushrooms: Part Two

It’s amazing to me sometimes how quickly time flies. Before you know it you’re another year older, and hopefully wiser. Last weekend I celebrated my 22nd Birthday. I had a wonderful birthday weekend full of surprises and lots of  fun, family, and food…all of my very favorite things in life! I will elaborate a little more about my birthday and Easter adventures in a future post, but for now I will share with you one of my cooking secrets. This recipe is one that has been frequenting my kitchen in many variations. The premise of this recipe is that food doesn’t necessarily have to be complicated or require a long list of ingredients to be full of flavor. All you really need is to start with a strong base, add some fresh nourishing  ingredients that have a nice texture, and season well with a balance of flavored oils, fresh herbs or spices. With these components in mind, you have a non-fussy delicious meal. This one pot recipe is certainly a simple one. It only requires 8 ingredients and can be completed in about  15 minutes. In continuum with our mushroom series, this dish features the Portobello mushroom and is perfect for a healthful last-minute dinner. Feel free to use this as a springboard for your next meal.

Spinach &Mushroom Rigatoni

Whole Wheat Rigatoni pasta, 2 generous handfuls
Fresh Raw Spinach, 1 1/2 cup
Baby Portobello Mushroom caps, 1-2 cups chopped
Balsamic Vinegar
Olive Oil Vinaigrette made from equal parts: Extra Virgin Olive Oil, fresh Lemon juice, and fresh Garlic
Parmesan cheese, finely grated

1. Cook the pasta al dente in a medium-large pot. Once the pasta is done, drain and return to pot.

While the water is boiling, gather the spinach in tight bundles and slice in thin ribbons. Repeat this step until all the spinach is chopped, and then dice the mushrooms.

2.  In a small bowl, whisk together the Olive Oil, Lemon juice and Garlic.

3. Finally, add Spinach ribbons and mushroom to the pasta pot. Drizzle with Balsamic Vinegar according to your preference, and then add the Olive Oil Vinaigrette. Turn the heat up to med-high, and stir to combine ingredients. When the spinach and mushrooms are slightly cooked and wilted, remove from heat. Top with Parmesan cheese and serve.

*Please Note: This recipe serves about two people, but it can be easily doubled, due to the flexibility of the ingredients. Simply adjust pasta and vegetable amounts.

Feel free to add extra ingredients to round it out, such as grilled steak strips, toasted pine nuts or almonds, extra vegetables, tomatoes etc.

4 thoughts on “Mushrooms: Part Two

  1. Amen sister! Too bad they’re too young to use the Popeye angle, it always worked for my brother and I when we were younger. Haha! The recipe is very flexible and quick, sometimes I’ll add sliced grilled chicken or leftover steak to make it more substantial. Feel free to make it your own! Let me know how it turns out and what the boys think. Maybe it’ll be a winner? 🙂

  2. Yum! I love all those ingredients. I am SO gona try this! And if the boys don’t like it – us girls around her will keep it for ourselves. You’re inspiring, Danielle.

Comments are closed.