Rainy Day Picnic

Sometimes you just have to roll with the punches. This is a principle I have learned to adapt as my life motto. I mention this because this is exactly what I had to do Mother’s Day weekend. With greatest aspirations, I planned a Mother’s Day picnic for my mother and new mother-in-law. This being my first holiday to officially celebrate having two mothers, I had to make this special. The idea of a spring picnic was very appealing to me. I couldn’t think of anything better than my two families gathering together, eating fried chicken with a beautiful park or garden as the background. We would all eat and play games, and drink in the beauty of spring. Doesn’t this sound like a dream? Well unfortunately it was. On Sunday morning I was awoken with the harsh reality that rain was on the forecast. A bit crushed, but not defeated I decided to create an indoor picnic. It was surprisingly easy thanks to my love of flowers and nature. A few terracotta pots and a red Geranium strategically placed on the patio, vibrant yellow Forsythia and Willow branches in a giant vase on the hearth of the fireplace, and a charming Orchid display on the dining room table brought in much-needed color and the nature element. A nice scrub down and dusting session of the apartment, then opening all of the windows and raising the shades, and lit candles brought in an amazing element of light and an open airy feel. And last but surely not least, I brought down my fancy China that I’m afraid to use, and it polished up quite nicely. (It was way better than paper plates and plastic cups!) There you go, instant indoor picnic. To think, all of the ingredients for a perfect day were hidden in my third-floor apartment.

Now I know what you’re all thinking, what about lunch? Well my friends that was the best part. My Mother’s Day menu included Rosemary Fried Chicken, The Best Basic Potato Salad, and Mediterranean Garbanzo Salad served with Southern style Iced Tea with Lemon. For dessert I whipped up a homemade Berry Cobbler and served it alongside Vanilla Ice Cream and Coffee. I revamped my Southern favorites with a little help from www.wholefoodsmarket.com and Sprouts Farmers Market (they have affordable local produce and a great bulk and whole wheat flour selection). Everything got rave reviews from my family, so I think it’s safe to say my Mother’s Day Picnic was a success. I hope your Mother’s Day was special and memorable as well! I would love to hear all about it.

***Stay tuned for a Mother’s Day Photo Gallery!

9 thoughts on “Rainy Day Picnic

  1. What a sweet idea! I know Susan was blessed. Great memories in the making. Thanks for sharing it with all of us – your ‘readers’!

  2. Oh! I just saw this!! 🙂
    The chicken was delish & the potato salad was to die for!! And DO NOT get me started on the dessert! YUMMMM!
    You are a fabulous cook! Your home looked lovely…better than a picnic! 🙂
    You are a blessing to me, Danielle Linville

  3. Hope you had a lovely Mothers day!! It was very thoughtful of you to prepare lunch and dessert. Jen’s really blessed to have you for a sister-in-law or just another sister!!!!

    • Thanks so much Sharon! i’m equally blessed to have her and you! it’s wonderful watching my family grow. i think there should be a new term for in-laws, it just doesn’t due justice to the special people God placed in my life. 🙂 many blessings to you!

  4. You’re my hero.. I’m so glad you’re in my world.. Congrats on a successful Mother’s Day celebration for your blended family. I wouldn’t have imagined any less from you.. Take care and all my love..

  5. I love your creativity! You inspire me! Let’s do a whole foods day together sometime! I LOVE that place! We could do our shopping and we could have lunch there. I would love to hear some of your creative ideas on cooking/shopping healthy but yummy!

    • thanks Hannah! that would be awesome! i must admit i’ve never actually shopped at Whole Foods, i haven’t been able to find one close to me. which location do you shop at? i love their website! the recipe section is very helpful. i would love to swap ideas with you also! we’ll have to make a date 🙂

Comments are closed.