10-10-10

Sam and I recently celebrated our very first anniversary! It’s  hard to believe that barely one year ago (October 10,2009) we were exchanging our self-written vows anxiously awaiting the biggest change in our lives. I blink and here we are, a year later, a bit wiser and still crazy about each other. I look back on my life before I met Sam and think of how cynical I was, and how I never thought that I would be able to trust another so wholeheartedly. I think of  how God slowly smoothed out my rough edges, and brought healing to my life in such an overwhelmingly big way. I am a true work in progress, growing and learning,  and dying to my selfishness. Believe me, it is a daily process of renewing. And when I am weak and reminded of past fears God sends me such a comfort in knowing that (especially) in my weakness, he is strong. My heart can safely trust in my husband,  because my heart safely trusts in God (and vise-versa). I am reminded of my vows to follow him wherever life takes us, and I know that we are together in this. So I can smile at the many many years to come.

“..For where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge. Your people shall be my people, and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there will I be buried. May the Lord do so to me and more also if anything but death parts me from you.”     ~Ruth 1:16-17

7 thoughts on “10-10-10

  1. Pingback: 2010 In Review « My Life As a Modern Wife

  2. Wonderful post. You and Sam really are an awesome couple. Ben and I have enjoyed watching you guys grow together. Can’t believe it has already been a year. We are coming up on our 13th year in a few weeks and I can say it just keeps getting better. I can’t wait to see what God does with you guys in your second year. I am pretty sure it will be AMAZING!

    • Thanks so much! I’m so glad that we’ve been able to share our lives with you guys. Our beautiful wedding wouldn’t have been the same without you that’s for sure! Congrats! I can’t wait to see what God has planned for us too (and for You&Ben). Year #2 is gonna be great 🙂

  3. Oh, Nix.. You never will cease to amaze me.. You & Sam are so lucky, so blessed to have found one another.. I’m so glad you’re so happy.. I’m SO happy for you.. I miss you, but feel peaceful that you are so content and surrounded with love.. That you are IN your safe and sacred place..

    Love you until forever..
    Rica

Comments are closed.